THE REMAINS OF RAYMOND HOE 1

Fellow friends and fellow foes
Wait, let me tell this tale of woe
The way I know they wait below
Below my belly where they grow
For woe is me! My friends and foes
When I heard of Raymond Hoe
I screamed, I shouted no!
But why? And why Raymond Hoe?
But why this very man I know?
I’ve known Mr. Raymond Hoe
For ten and a year below
When we met at fashion show
He was nice, you should know
He was kind, and gently goes
He rhymingly uses o
Whenever he says hello
When I say to him also
“Good evening Mr. Hoe”
He says, “Hello, Mr. Sam o
How dey go dey go dey go?
How your wife and family o?
I hope they are all fine o.”
But why? And why Raymond Hoe?
But why this very man I know?
He was a one man Mopo
And used to wear polo
And loved to wear chino
And used to live solo
A divorcé, you should know
With no child no, no, no
With no kin no, no, no
With no pal no, no, no
But I thought with no foe
When I heard in my bungalow
When I heard this tale of woe
When I heard of Raymond Hoe
I screamed, I shouted no!
But why? And why Raymond Hoe?
But why this very man I know?
The very young Raymond Hoe
Who only had seven years to
Clock forty, you should know
You should know Mr. Hoe
He was an average fellow
He wasn’t a rich fellow
He wasn’t a poor fellow
And lived a room not bungalow
To hide his head from mosquitoes
And the chills that will blow
Through the night to and fro
But why? And why Raymond Hoe?
But why this very man I know?
Two o’clock remained ten to
And the sun was in full glow
When they entered the room of Hoe
And found him lying solo
With his head on his pillow
Listening to music of Mario
 Through his ipodlike radio
Waiting beside his pillow
The earpiece hung above his lobe
Where he lay like log solo
Through his throat a blood flow
Soaking Hoe from head to toe
But why? And why Raymond Hoe?
But why this very man I know?
Like goat, someone slaughtered Hoe
In his bed, on his pillow
But the foe, I believe so
Later, later you shall know.
       Samuel C. Enunwa July 21, 2011.

Leave a Reply

