I WAKE THIS MORNING

I wake this morning
To good tidings of life
So the good tidings of west
And east and north and south
Must begin to come my way
For any tree
The snail wishes to climb
It climbs it successfully
And any tree
The woodpecker wishes to peck
It pecks it successfully

So the good tidings of west
And east and north and south
Must begin to come my way
For no fingernail
Will live a day
Without being fed by day
With scratchy skin
And no toenail
Will live a night
Without being fed by night
With scratchy skin

That’s why I dance
To the tone and talking drum
Of grace
And faith and favour
That say
I wake this morning
To good tidings of life.

Samuel C. Enunwa
samueldpoetry
http://goo.gl/PgIbn
http://twitter.com/samueldpoetry

Leave a Reply

