A Sudden Backslide

I took my wrapper and went to sleep
And woke and checked the date

It was 2006
In pre-degree
In my room playing chess with Kenny

So I got angry
For I wanted to move forward
Not to go back to where I was before

Then I took my wrapper again and went to sleep
And woke and checked the date

It was 1995
In grammar school
On the green field
Playing football with my friend, Akomachie

So I got angry
For I wanted to move forward
Not to go back to where I was before

I still took the wrapper and went to sleep
And woke and checked the date

It was 1992
In primary school
Learning English
And teacher was Mrs. Ehumadu

So I got angry
For I wanted to move forward
Not to go back to where I was before

Thats why I took the wrapper again and went to sleep
And woke and checked the date

It was 1983
On a mackintosh
Crying
While waiting for mother to feed me NAN

So I got angry
For I wanted to move forward
Not to go back to where I was before

I took my wrapper with the feeling of frustration
And went to sleep

God began to call my name
I was afraid to wake again
So I started fake-snoring
God said:
“Wake up and don’t be scared!
You have slept so deep
That was why you were dreaming
So wake up to the real world!
And wake up to the future!!”

Samuel C. Enunwa
“No one knows tomorrow except God”
http://samueldpoetry.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

