D. H. LAWRENCE (1885 – 1930)

I’ve known thee
Since thirteen
When like a kindergarten
I used to recite poetry

You meant nothing to me
“A LIVING” especially
Untill my chin bearing beards scratching me
My brain begins to think deeply to agree:

“A man should never earn his living,
if he earns his life he’ll be lovely.

A bird
picks up its seeds or little snails
between heedless earth and heaven
in heedlessness

_And we, we get it all from them for nothing.”

Oh Lawrence, forever you shall live in my memory.

Samuel C. Enunwa aka samueldpoetry

Leave a Reply

