Who Was There?

I pincheth my thumb… oozing blood
Lick it! You disagreed
Now my fingers dripping oil
Oil on my fingers one to five
Flowing down my fingernails
You hailed, you knelt
You drew your tongue near
Towards my fingers
You wanna lick my oil?

Oh, son of man!
On the tough road you ride alone
Oh, lo and behold! At the slope
Where the ride is smooth and sweet
They await you there to share your ride with you

I heard you’re rich now
Always in company of friends from all works of life
They are lovely
They are nice
They don’t cheat
They don’t backbite
They are willing to be there at all times

Huh,
Who was there
When penury was feeding you slimming tea?

Who was there?
Only you and your head

You’re a senator now
Yes I can see you dining amidst cankerworms of caucuses
Who suddenly appeared

Who was there
When strategising worries were the only things sedating the territories of brain?

Who was there?
Only you or few of your families

I have learnt
When trophy comes people will surround you
They will deny you when troubles come your way.

Samuel C. Enunwa aka samueldpoetry
http://345poet.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

