Ode to the Poet’s Curtain

ODE TO THE POET’S CURTAIN
Eh! What a screen with a heavenly picture;
picturing an artistic fixture
turning my bedroom to a museum of culture
handsomely showcasing the native of passion
with the exhibition of these heavenly creatures.

Hi! You scattered lightening of illumination!
I embarrassingly cherish your illustration.
What a great explanation
for illuminating heaven’s innovation!

And you, banana shaped fluorescence of harmony
harmonizing damsels as the heavenly legacy.
I marvel at your melody.
You speak from memory
to the best of my memory.

Hello! You carefully carved image of passion!
Sitting on the harmonious banana fluorescence
with a crownlike beret of assertion
wearing an angelic gown of emergence
ribbonly embellished for fashion.
What a comely face of continence
that never conceals emotion!
Reproducing an alluring smile
romanticizing my soul with affection
through this heavenly picture.

I SEE LOVE
I see love as a bird
not to be hunted
for fun or be fed
or kept in cage instead.

I see love a painted
pretty portrait in shed
of a painter not to be handed
to the proud or heartless one with cash in hand.

And I see love in my head
not as feelings people feel
nor a vision mission instead
but as a rolling movie reel.

LAWS OF SEDUCTION
Choose choice.
Make a feign intention,
be interested and not.
Show worths of yours no matter what
sharing pains you have not
insinuating
suggesting
entertaining spirit for manufacturing
temptation and suspense
in poetry and memento
you must build your tools.
You have weaknesses to reveal,
pure illusion,
isolation
with proof of the self of yours
be divine and wordy and physical
and concrete and offensive:
direct and indirect
seduction is within you;
unleash it.

I’VE ONCE
I’ve once alone trekked
ten years in desert unfed
hated and murdered a friend
climbed mount everest to end
I’ve once ruled my great country and
commanded battalion, held
hostage in a foreign land
I’ve once headed large congregation and
once delebrately impregnated
seven friends of my girlfriend
as loved and wanted
me; jumped from a plane I boarded
with no parachute landed undead
in ocean bed
with a smiling sexy mermaid
been a quiet responsible dad
who never for once treated
badly my wife nor cheated
and I’ve once well acted
movie alongside Trevo Goddard
in short, I’ve once done all I’ve said,
not in reality but in my imaginative head.

Samuel C. Enunwa aka samueldpoetry

One thought on “Ode to the Poet’s Curtain

Leave a Reply

