Germans Shedding Tears of Joy (winning 2014 world cup)

andre and babe

Congratulations
You, Germany National Football team!

You came,
you saw,
you conquered
and messiah Mario Gotze
made the effort worth
celebrating

Manuel Neuer
I congratulate thee
on the 2014 World Cup Golden Glove

James Rodriguez
I congratulate thee
on the 2014 World Cup Golden Boot

Paul Pogba
I congratulate thee
on the 2014 World Cup Young Player Award

Lionel Messi
I congratulate thee
on the 2014 World Cup Golden Ball
where Zabaleta crawled on the field,
dirtied his jersey
but didn’t get it;
Schweinsteiger broke his jaw,
shed his blood
but didn’t get it;
Arjen Robben did play so well
and really deserved it
but didn’t get it;
You, Lionel Messi
found mercy in sight of God
and sight of men
and got it
when you didn’t even deserve it
for my mind told me

Ah! Angel Di Maria,
my favorite is what you are.
I wished the World Cup was right in your arms right now
that’s why
up till this hour I shed my tears in lonliness for you.

Samuel C. Enunwa aka samueldpoetry

Leave a Reply

