They Look Me Like Wretch

To shelter, I built a pretty hut
bungalow tenants look me like wretch;
forgetting to get
I’ve made my research
no difference it makes where shelter I fetch

To protein, I bought white beans from the market
yet brown buyers look me like wretch;
forgetting to get
I’ve made my research
no difference it makes where protein I fetch

To clean, I took a #10 Klin to clean my shirt
heads from dry-cleaner’s den look me like wretch;
forgetting to get
I’ve made my research
no difference it makes where neatness I fetch

To multiply, I villaged and love I fetch
yet bleaching city girls look me like wretch;
forgetting to get
I’ve made my research
no difference it makes where love I fetch.

Samuel C. Enunwa aka samueldpoetry

Leave a Reply

